Posted by: orcaweb | April 30, 2014

Porpoises, porpoises…and more porpoises!!

Firstly, let me apologise for the lack of wildlife

photos in this blog entry!  I know how tedious it is to read something without having any photographs to relate to.  However, it seems like North Sea harbour porpoises are extremely shy!  Whenever I take my camera out on deck, I do not see anything.  Yet, when I don’t take the camera out, we’re seeing porpoises left, right and centre!  Either way, I have not been able to take any pictures of porpoises, despite seeing 31 this week! 

On Saturday evening, leaving Ijmuiden, the weather was as flat as a mirror.  30 people joined me on deck and we had continuous sightings of porpoise pods passing the ship on all sides.  One pod made passengers ‘oooo’ and ‘ahhh’ as if watching fireworks, when they jumped out of the water, creating a huge splash.

 Image

In contrast, standing out on deck this morning, with the rain hammering down, I headed to a more sheltered spot on the port side the observation deck.  As I looked down into the sea, all I kept on seeing was litter floating past – crisp packets, a purple rubber glove, a plastic cup.  Did you know that 20,000 tonnes of litter is dumped in the North Sea each year?!  Marine litter is just one of the topics that I have been covering in my marine pollution ‘Wine and Whales’ lecture. 

My special bird sighting of the week was a beautiful black throated diver!

I also made it into Amsterdam this week for King’s Day (the King’s Birthday), which was quite an experience!  The party atmosphere was fantastic, everyone was dressed in orange (a show of pride for the Dutch Royal family, the House of Orange-Nassau), and orange bunting and balloons adorned the streets.  There were street parties, cake sales, vintage clothing sales and even parties on the canal boats! 

Image

And now I pass you over to Sara for a week.

Thanks for reading,

Anna

Leave a Reply

Categories

