Posted by: orcaweb | September 5, 2012

A Long Time Coming

Hello One and All

Nathan here just reporting in case you had forgotten who I was. Well it’s been a while and I thought I’d quickly update you on whats been going on both during my last shift on board the King Seaways and since then. First of all let me say sorry for the late delivery of this blog but it’s here now. I would ask you to cast your memories way back to the first couple of weeks in August, the weather is switching between being almost okay to fairly unpleasant and unfortunately it was much the same out in the North Sea. The poor conditions led to minimal sightings for almost the entire two weeks. The odd occasional fleeting glimpse of a Harbour Porpoise but I spent most of the deck watches telling the passengers about the many Gannets and Guillemots which we saw in a fairly steady supply.

So it was with a somewhat heavy heart that I approached the end of my shift thinking that I hardly got to to show the passengers any cetaceans this shift. I was then joined by Rob an ORCA volunteer fresh out of Bay of Biscay who was coming on board for few days to experience life as a Wildlife Officer in the  North Sea. As I told him that sightings had been scarce in the last couple of weeks he boldly claimed that it was okay as he was a bit of a good luck charm and as much as I hate to admit, he wasn’t wrong. With two beautiful sunny days and flat calm seas, my last trip to the Netherlands and back was a real pleasure. The deck watches had some of the best turn outs both in numbers of passengers and in  porpoises. At points it seemed as if a new group came along every few minutes! A great last day.

I also said I had some news of interest since I have been off the ship. That was a lucky sighting off the beautiful  North Cornish coast of a small group of Bottlenose Dolphins. Quite far out but still visible from the shore. Just what I needed to get me ready to get back out into the North Sea at the end of the week.

To finish with I must say that I am very very jealous of Mikes incredible Minke whale sighting last week all I can hope is it’s still around next week!

Cheers and hope to see you all soon!

Nathan Brown

Wildlife Officer

Leave a Reply

Categories

