Posted by: orcaweb | March 30, 2012

Porpoises in the North Sea!

Hello Everyone

Well I guess I should start by introducing myself, I’m Nathan and I am one of two brand new ORCA Wildlife Officers who will be working on the DFDS ship the King Seaways over the course the summer. Between me and Mike Williams, my ORCA colleague and fellow Wildlife Officer, we shall be keeping you up to date on all of our exciting sightings of Whales, Dolphins and porpoises as we criss-cross the North Sea.

I now come to the end of my first week on board the King Seaways and what a start to the season it has been. My first few crossings of the North Sea were quite quiet and I spent my deck watches talking to passengers about wildlife and observing a variety of seabirds. These included Greater and Lesser Black Backed Gulls, Kittiwakes and Fulmars, the mighty Gannet, little Guillemots and even a paddling Puffin.

This all changed on Tuesday when with fairly good spotting conditions some lucky passengers and I spotted 3 Harbour Porpoises on our journey out of Ijmuiden. Our good luck continued and as set back off from Newcastle on Wednesday, the conditions were a perfect calm and as the sun dropped through the sky we spotted 15 harbour porpoises spread in small groups of 2 or 3 individuals. A real treat for both the passengers and myself. Hopefully this is sign of the season to come with good conditions and lots to see.

To all those people who will be travelling on the DFDS King Seaways this summer I look forward to meeting you and hope you too will get to see some of the fantastic wildlife out there in the North Sea

Nathan Brown

ORCA wildlife OFficer

Leave a Reply

Categories

