Posted by: orcaweb | May 24, 2010

Raffle

Our monthly raffle is a great way to raise money for the ORCA charity. With the generosity of DFDS who have donated a mini cruise for 2 people is our first prize give away and for the runners up they get free entry into ORCAs big whale weekend. This is a monthly prize draw where the raffle will be drawn at the end of the month.

We have a weekly draw too, where the top prize is a bottle of champagne, again donated from DFDS, and the runner ups can win ORCA goodies, such as a book about whales, dolphins and porpoises, and a beautiful poster of a whale.

At the weekends the wildlife officers work very hard by going around the ship to advertise the raffle. I find this a good way to interact with the passengers and that they get to learn about ORCA too. In one night last month I raised over 100 pounds so for this weekend I am aiming to double that.

Friday night went extremely well with selling the tickets, I managed to raise over sixty pounds, and however, a lot of these passengers were booked to come back the next day, so I knew I wasn’t going to make as much on the Saturday. Although on the Saturday I made around fifty pounds so all in all it was a success, not as many passengers were as keen as they were on Friday, but I still beat last month’s so next week I will try and beat this weekends. Maybe I was aiming a bit to high to double it.

I think it is really good of DFDS to donate the champagne to us, as most of the passengers will enjoy that on a Saturday night and as for the mini cruise too, that is a great monthly prize give away, so I would like to thank DFDS as without their huge donations, ORCA wouldn’t have sold as many raffle tickets, therefore not as many donations. So thank you DFDS!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

