Posted by: orcaweb | September 25, 2009

Typical – Why do I find somewhere great to visit just as the ORCA WO season comes to a close?

Beth – King of Scandinavia

A little glimpse of Zuid-Kennemerland National Park

A little glimpse of Zuid-Kennemerland National Park

Sometimes it’s nice to get ashore and stretch ship bound legs and I most certainly did that today.  Wanting to make the most of the late September sunshine I packed a picnic, grabbed my binoculars and camera and went off to the National Park Zuid-Kennemerland.  What a delightful (although leg aching) day.

As the leaves begin to fall it becomes easier to spot the birds flying through the thinning canopy and sitting on the barer branches.  I had my best view of a great spotted woodpecker and it made a change looking at woodland birds as opposed to the seabirds that we see on a daily basis.

Great Spotted Woodpecker

Great Spotted Woodpecker

So close to the path!

So close to the path!

We also came across the herd of shaggy, big horned cattle that roam the park; they were sitting right next to the path – fantastic.

On the ship I identify birds by sight as I rarely get to hear the seabirds call but being in the forest reminded me of how important it is to get to know the sounds of the various species.  The forest can be a very noisy place and by listening to the different cheeps, chirrups and chirps it is possible to work out what bird is in the area and where.  Thankfully I had someone with me who was far better at identifying by sound than I was which meant that overall I got to see a lot more.

After stopping for a picnic and a well-earned rest we made our way back to ship stopping only once for an ice cream.  Deservedly so, we did walk for over 5 hours and I am determined to drag out every last summer’s day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

