Posted by: orcaweb | September 7, 2009

It really does pay to watch.- M.s King of Scandinavia

Minke whale
Minke whale

The season is starting to come to an end for me on M.s. King of 
Scandinavia but the North Sea never seems to let me down I have had 
some fantastic sightings over the past 6 months from big pods of 
Common dolphins to fantastic views of Puffins and Gannets.

But I have to say my favourite of all is when I spotted the Minke whale 
It is such an elusive species making it such a joy when you get the 
chance to view one.

I was in the ORCA centre on the 6th of September, I was talking to a 
couple of passengers who I had previously met on departure on the 
Observation deck at the front of the ship. We were wishfully looking out the window talking about the Cetaceans 
of the North Sea and the impact of fishing and our Big Fish Project 
(information can be found on the ORCA website) when all of a sudden 
one of the passengers said “what’s that?” We only got a brief view and 
at a guess I had a feeling it was a Minke by the shape of the dorsal 
fin, luckily though it came up again, where we had the best view I had 
all season. The best thing about it though is the passengers have 
never seen a whale before and the lady said it brought a tear to her eye. I 
know how she feels I get a rush of excitement every time I have an 
encounter with a cetacean they are such amazing animals.

Rosie
Wildlife officer

Leave a Reply

Categories

