Posted by: orcaweb | August 27, 2009

Rare sighting for me on m.s. King of Scandinavia

I Finally get to meet Dylan

I Finally get to meet Dylan

I’ve had some great company out on deck recently after the surveyors left the ship on Wednesday 5th August, I was joined by my boss Dylan Walker. It was an exciting time for me as I had missed out on meeting him and the rest of the team at the beginning of the season.

After departing down the mouth of the River Tyne, we carried out a deck watch talking to many passengers that were out on deck admiring the views.

A few of them were keen birders so joined us in our evening bird watch. We spotted around 60 manxs shearwaters, the North Sea is one of the few places you can see them before they head off to South America for the winter, I wonder if they will take me with them!

It was a shame that I didn’t spot any cetaceans with Dylan, but on the outward journey on the 7th, once he had left I saw a pod of Porpoises and again on the return on the 9th in the morning the watching conditions were spot on. Let’s hope for more as the season continues.

Rosie
Wildlife Officer

Leave a Reply

Categories

