Posted by: orcaweb | July 3, 2009

Who put that there?

Beth – King of Scandinavia

Its surprising what you can miss when you are not looking for it.  For instance, I have lost count of the number of times that I have sailed through the breakwater into the Tyne.  It was only today however that I actually noticed the rollercoaster and what appears to be a funfair at South Shields.  A roller coaster!  How does someone who makes a living out of having a keen eye miss that?  I would like to re-assure you that it is because I have my eyes fixed firmly on the animal life that I managed to miss this rather large inanimate object.

My new discovery enticed me to find out a little bit more about one of the sights that I ‘don’t see’ because I have seen it so much I take it for granted.

Priory ruins

Priory ruins

I am talking about the priory ruins that are there to greet travellers as they enter the Tyne from the North Sea.  After a little bit of research I found out that three kings were buried on the site of Tynemouth Priory, Oswin in 651 A.D., Osred in 792 A.D. and Malcolm in 1093 A.D.  The original Anglo-Saxon Monastry was pillaged and left to ruin by the Vikings and it wasn’t until early in the 11th Century that rebuilding started.  It is the ruins of this ‘newer’ priory that we see today.

If you look at the Tynemouth Coat of Arms you will see three crowns on the shield, each one representing one of the three kings buried at the Tynemouth Priory site.  And you all thought I was just about the biology!

Leave a Reply

Categories

