Posted by: orcaweb | June 11, 2009

Pure indulgence

6th – 8th June, King of Scandinavia

Getting to your holiday destination by a DFDS Seaways cruise ferry is a great and relaxing way to start your trip.  A lot of passengers from Holland or Germany are often en route to Scotland and I love it when we get together to enthuse about the wildlife that lives there and the species that they should be on the lookout for.  It is even better if I am onboard when they make their return journey so I can hear about the experiences they have had.

This happened recently with a lovely Dutch couple whom I had met on their outward journey.  They were really enthusiastic about bird watching and were going to Scotland to see some species that they had never seen before.  Well, I was able to catch up with them as their holiday was finishing and we were all sailing back to Amsterdam (Ijmuiden).  They got some amazing photos of puffins, razorbills, fulmars, shags, eider ducks, I could go on but to be honest, in this blog I just wanted to share some of their gorgeous shots with you.

So sit back, relax and take in the detail.  I would just like to say thanks to them for letting me take copies of their photos.  Thanks guys (HJ & M Luiten).

Beth

Now that's what I call a headshot!

Now that's what I call a headshot!

My favourite shot I think.

My favourite shot I think. A fulmar in amongst the bluebells, how idyllic.

Great shot of the razorbill

Great shot of the razorbill

Tern flying high

Tern flying high

Leave a Reply

Categories

