Posted by: orcaweb | May 29, 2009

Minke Whale Ahoy! 21st -23rd April

Both me and my passengers were carrying out the usual early morning deck watch – I had managed to convince them that they had better chances of spotting cetaceans the earlier were out on deck. We had been out there for around 2 hrs when they decided that it was time for breakfast, I was left standing on my own, looking out into the distance for all the wildlife around.
It had been about 45 minutes since they had left and all of a sudden up pops the elusive Minke Whale! I was so excited, unfortunately in my excitement I took a picture of the sea and totally missed the whale! The Minke Whale can range from 7 – 10 m and is often seen on its own. http://www.orcaweb.org.uk/idminke.htm

Rosie
Wildlife Officer King of Scandinavia

This is my attempt of catching the Minke whale on camera! I promise it was there seconds before.

This is my attempt of catching the Minke whale on camera! I promise it was there seconds before.

Leave a Reply

Categories

