Posted by: orcaweb | October 16, 2008

ORCA / DFDS Seaways Wildlife Officer Grethe Hillersøy bumps in to some old friends on the Dana Sirena

Harwich to Esbjerg (Wednesday 17th – Friday 19th September 2008)

 

As wildlife officers we meet so many nice and interesting people that go travelling on the ships where we work. Often we meet them as they are heading off somewhere for their long holiday, and then a couple of weeks later we meet them again as they are heading home, and we exchange stories of sightings and experiences. And it is so much fun!

 

As we were heading back home to Norway for the last time on the “Queen of Scandinavia”, I met a lovely couple that was going on the holiday of a lifetime in Norway and Sweden, and I waved them goodbye as they went off the ferry. The next working shift was going to be on the “Dana Sirena” between England and Denmark, so I didn’t expect to see them again.

 

  But, on my first journey with the new ship, I suddenly heard behind me: “Hello, ORCA-lady!” And there they were again! They had travelled through Denmark to make it back to the UK on a ferry, and they had coincidentally made it back on my first trip on the new ship! And so I got to hear about their lovely trip up in Norway, and I filled them in on the latest sightings. I have to admit that I was feeling a little lost, just having started on a new ship, but that feeling vanished when I met my friends again!

 

ORCA / DFDS Seaways Wildlife Officer Grethe Hillersøy watches the skies for tiny travellers and stalking falcons on the Dana Sirena

Leave a Reply

Categories

